DIY Patio Chair Covers

Spring is in the air and I wanted to share a project that I did last year to fix up an old patio table that I received from a neighbor.

I started with adding a fresh coat of teal paint. The metal chairs did not have any type of cushion so I created my own!

Here’s how I did it:

-Materials: 1/2″ thick board, foam (I used a mattress topper), outdoor fabric (I used Sunbrella brand), 2 yards of elastic

-I measured the circumference of the chair seat and deducted 1/2″ so that the board would fit in the seat, not sit on top of it. I cut this circumference out of a 1/2″ thick board.

-I cut the same sized circle out of a memory foam mattress topper. (I always buy at least one of these for future craft projects when they’re on clearance after back to college timing).

-I added 2″ to the measurement around the circle for the fabric cover for it to fit over the foam and board. I sewed elastic around the circle to create a shower cap looking cover.

-I fit the cover over the board with the foam in between and I had my little chair cushion! I didn’t want to staple down the fabric so the foam could be taken out if it ever got soaking wet.

I repeated the steps for each chair and had super cute little cushions. I try to remember to take them inside if it’s going to rain, but they’ve held up well over one summer.

Hope this idea could work for one of you!

Xo.

One thought on “DIY Patio Chair Covers

  1. Pingback: DIY Patio Chair Cushions | style & the suburbs

Leave a Reply

