DIY Industrial Curtain Rods for Under $5

I’m in the process of remodeling my porch and recently found a great deal on navy burlap curtains at Target. Whenever I’m there, I check the back endcaps of the home department looking for clearance deals. I’m going for a rustic Americana look and the navy burlap was the perfect find.

I wanted to find a way to hang the curtains that fit with the theme and the indoor/outdoor function of the porch, that was also somewhat inexpensive. I did some pinterest hunting and saw that people used metal pipes as curtain rods with industrial metal hardware to hang them. I thought this would be a great option for me.

I went looking for metal pipe at my local home improvement store and found the perfect 1/2″ thick pipe that was $1.50 for 12 feet. Hooks to hold the pipe were $0.60 for a package of 4. I left the store with everything that I needed for under $5! The key to the project is walking around with 12 foot pipe and not accidentally bumping it into anything..

Here’s how I hung the curtains:

-First I cut the pipe to the width of the windows I was covering. I just used a hand saw to cut them to the right measurement.

DIY Industrial Curtain Rods for Under $5 --jenniferrobertusdesign

-I then drilled holes into the molding for the hanging clips and screwed them in place. I hung one clip on each side of the rod and one in the middle for support.

DIY Industrial Curtain Rods for Under $5 --jenniferrobertusdesign

DIY Industrial Curtain Rods for Under $5 --jenniferrobertusdesign

-I hung the curtains on the metal rod (careful not to cut myself or the panel on the pipe ends), and lifted it into place on the clips.

DIY Industrial Curtain Rods for Under $5 --jenniferrobertusdesign

-I used burlap twine to create tiebacks, and added hooks to the side moldings about halfway down the wall to hook the twine on.

DIY Industrial Curtain Rods for Under $5 --jenniferrobertusdesign

The entire project ended up costing under $25 for all of the panels, the twine, and rods, along with a few screws that I had already. I love the way the panels add privacy and give my porch a more cozy, cabana-like feel!

Xo.

DIY Industrial Curtain Rods for Under $5 --jenniferrobertusdesign DIY Industrial Curtain Rods for Under $5 --jenniferrobertusdesign

Leave a Reply

