DIY Beyonce-Inspired Sweatshirt & Outfit Inspiration

Right now I’m in the process of ripping 500 square feet of hardwood floors out of a house, so I may be MIA from the blog for a few days. But, here is a quick and fun project that I did earlier this week to inspire you for now!

My go-to look these days has been any sweatshirt that’s some sort of designer name or luxury fabric that makes it not look like you’re wearing a sweatshirt. (I can thank the long Minnesota winters for this!). I’ve been seeing super cute Beyonce-inspired “I Woke Up Like This” shirts all over pinterest, and knew I could easily make my own out of a cozy sweatshirt.

DIY Beyonce-Inspired Sweatshirt & Outfit Inspiration-- jenniferrobertusdesign

Here’s how I did it:

-Materials: cheap sweatshirt (or tshirt), SOFT fabric paint (otherwise it will be super crunchy), paint brush, tailors chalk or a pencil

-Find the center of the shirt, and place a piece of cardboard in between the front and back layers so you have a hard surface to work on and no paint will bleed through.

-Start to trace out your letters in tailors chalk or a regular pencil. I first created guidelines so I knew where each row of letters would go, and tried to center the words within them. The more time you spend sketching it out, the better it will look.

DIY Beyonce-Inspired Sweatshirt & Outfit Inspiration-- jenniferrobertusdesign

-Using a paintbrush, start outlining the letters in the fabric paint. I’ve found a flat tipped paintbrush works best to create more precise block letters.

DIY Beyonce-Inspired Sweatshirt & Outfit Inspiration-- jenniferrobertusdesign

-Carefully fill in the letters with paint. Again, the more precise and sharp you can make the letters, the more professional it will look.

DIY Beyonce-Inspired Sweatshirt & Outfit Inspiration-- jenniferrobertusdesign

Once it dries, you are done! You can just wash the shirt (separately the first time) to get the chalk or pencil off. I’ve used this brand of fabric paint before and its held up surprisingly well with regular washing and drying.

I styled my new shirt with an emerald green pencil skirt from Banana Republic, a metallic statement necklace from Saks, some chunky nude Pedro Garcia wedges, and used a pop of red on my lips and nails. Because that’s what I wake up looking like.. of course!

Xo.

One thought on “DIY Beyonce-Inspired Sweatshirt & Outfit Inspiration

Leave a Reply

