Monster + Dot: How My Etsy Shop Came To Be

I’m very excited to have launched my Etsy shop this week. I’ve wanted to start my own brand since I was in college, but never could nail down a concept or what exactly I wanted to sell.  A few weeks ago, I got laid off from my dream job in product design for a major retailer, and I’ve been trying to stay as busy as possible to keep moving forward instead of dwelling on what happened. I was working on making a baby quilt for a friend and was thinking about featuring it as a DIY on this blog. I had so much fun picking out ridiculously cute fabrics and the quilt came together so well that it just sort of inspired me to keep going.

I was up all night pulling together a brand and new product ideas and was the first one in the parking lot at the fabric store the next day. And then I sewed, and sewed, and sewed. I want Monster + Dot to be inspirational and playful bedding for nursery’s and expand into kid’s bedding too (although my arms already hurt thinking about sewing a twin sized quilt). My first collection, Baby Explorers features fun map prints and characters in bright playful colors.

The ideas keep coming to me and this project helps me feel I’m headed in the right direction for now. We’ll see where it takes me! Unfortunately, I won’t be giving you the DIY tutorial now, since you can just buy them at my shop instead. 😉

Xo.

FullSizeRender (28) IMG_1756FullSizeRender (27)

One thought on “Monster + Dot: How My Etsy Shop Came To Be

Leave a Reply

