DIY Gold Planter

I love any project that adds curb appeal to my house. This weekend I redid an old planter to give it new life and to add a little interest to my yard. Its an easy project and I love that it reuses something that I would have just thrown away.

Here’s how I did it:

I started with an old ceramic pot that was left at my house from the people that lived there before. (Sorry to the kid who probably finger painted it as a gift for mom). First, I washed all the dirt and dust off of the pot and let it dry completely.

Next, I set up an area for spray panting and gave the pot a coat of metallic gold paint. It was a warm sunny day and the paint dried in under 30 minutes. After it was dry, I flipped the pot over to paint the inside around the top ring.

I normally don’t promote brand names on here, but the Rust-oleum gold metallic finish paint is the best gold metallic I’ve found. The paint goes on really nice and leaves a shiny finish that almost looks like gold leaf. (It’s the same product that I used on my DIY Gold Dipped Table).

After letting the paint dry completely to the touch, I added some dirt and a lily plant that had already started growing in my garden. I can’t wait to paint all my planters to match!

Xo.

Leave a Reply

