Guest Post: DIY Succulent Planters

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been a little blog MIA lately. I just started a new job and have been busy working on big projects for future blog posts (the 600 square feet of vintage hardwood floor pieces are now sorted by the inch in my basement..). But lucky for you, my adorable friend Britni agreed to do a guest post!

Check out her DIY for trendy succulent planters:

If you have a hard time keeping indoor plants and flowers alive like I do, succulents are the answer to all of your green thumb problems. Not only are these little guys one of the easiest plants to take care of, they can live in just about anything and added bonus – they are super cute! Here is a quick and low-cost tutorial on DIY succulent planters to add a fun summer vibe to your place.

Here is what you’ll need:

Four succulent plants – I found mine at a local drugstore for $3/plant – (what a steal!)

Four 4 inch Terracotta pots – found at any Garden Center for around $1.50/pot

Four 4 inch Terracotta saucers – also at Garden Center for around $.50/saucer

Acrylic paint – I chose bright neon colors to add a pop of color throughout my apartment. These can be found at any department or warehouse store in the Craft department. I bought a pack with 12 colors for about $5.

A paint brush

Start by repotting the succulents into the new pots and set them aside.  I covered my work area (dining room table) with old newspaper for a clean workspace and easy clean up. Decide on what colors you want to use and work best in your home. Because I liked the look of the clay planters, I decided to paint only the saucers but it’s up to you how you want to decorate them. Play around with it and have fun! Paint the saucer with as many layers as needed to achieve the desired color. Set aside and let them dry for one hour. Voila, you’re done! Match with the succulent pots and find a home where they can get plenty of sun ☀️

Don’t forget to follow Britni on Instagram and Twitter!

Xo.

Leave a Reply

