How to Care for Hydrangeas

image

If you follow my Instagram feed, you’ll know how much I love hydrangeas. My yard was full of white hydrangeas when I bought my house, but I wanted to add more color when I redid the landscaping last year.

I found beautiful blue hydrangea plants at my local plant store and planted them in front of my house. In order to turn the blooms blue, you need to add a soil acidifier to water and pour it on the plants. I do this a couple times in the spring before the plants bloom. Sometimes the leaves start to turn brown, so I give them a little more throughout the summer.

The blue hydrangeas are also very temperature and water sensitive and wilt when it gets too dry or hot (don’t we all?). The front of my house gets a lot of sun so I have to water them almost every day in the summer. It’s interesting that one of the plants is more shaded and had grown bigger and more blue than the one directly in the sun.

Over the freezing Minnesota winter, I covered the plants in leaves and burlap and they survived just fine. The plants have come back double the size this year.

I recently added a pink/purple hydrangea to my garden and can’t wait to see what the color turns out to be!

imageimageimage

2 thoughts on “How to Care for Hydrangeas

  1. Pingback: The Great Garden Makeover | style & the suburbs

Leave a Reply

