Healthy Banana Oat Cookies

I’ve been trying to make healthy choices when it comes to food to support my running. I’m not a very good cook but I do what I can! After pinning lots of ‘healthy cookie’ recipes, I came up with my own version with ingredients that I had in my pantry.

img_4466

Ingredients:
-2 medium ripe bananas
-3 packets of instant oatmeal
-1/4 cup steel cut oats
– 2 tbsp dark chocolate chips, walnuts, cranberries or other favorite mix ins

I start with mashing 2 medium sized ripe bananas until their a soft consistency. I add in 3 packets of instant oatmeal. I’ve been using cinnamon apple which tastes amazing, but you could use any kind you want. I also add in 1/4 cup of steel cut oats to add a little more thickness. I mix the oats and bananas until they have a doughy consistency and then add a few dark chocolate chips and chopped walnuts. You could also add cranberries, other nuts, or any other favorite cookie mix in.

I put rounded spoonfuls on a non-stick cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes and remove from the pan after baking to cool. I refrigerate after cooking for up to 4 days, otherwise I freeze the rest (if there are any left!). They make a great treat for lunch packing or late night snacking!

img_4467

Do you have any favorite healthy cookie recipes? Leave a comment below and share!

One thought on “Healthy Banana Oat Cookies

  1. Pingback: Healthy Apple Cake Recipe Review | style & the suburbs

Leave a Reply

