Basement Remodel Reveal!

When I first moved into my house, my basement was a pretty scary place with dated tile, unfinished ceilings, and wood paneling walls covered in industrial shelves.

Basement Mancave Home Gym Remodel | Style and the Suburbs

Over the past few years, I’ve painted, added carpeting, and stripped the paint off of the cabinets to make the room more livable but still didn’t love it. I’ve been using my basement as a home gym and spending a lot of time there during the cold Minnesota winters, so it was a priority to refresh it into a usable space.

Goals for the remodel were: new ceiling, new lighting (and updated electric), painting walls, and tiling the floor. We wanted to work from the top down, and started with the ceiling. After installing drywall board, mudding, taping, sanding, and repeating, the ceiling looked flawless after being primed and painted.

We then moved to the walls, where I decided the paneling was smooth enough to just paint over. We filled in a few holes and gave a light sanding before using a high-hide primer and quality paint. I went with gray because I like that it adds a warm color without being too dark. We then moved onto the floor and matched the tile to what I had installed in the rest of the basement.

I finished the remodel with mounting my TV and bringing in some simple furniture that I painted white to freshen up. I wanted to bring in a sporty vibe without being tacky, so I used some awesome vintage football finds. I’m still looking for a frame that will fit my 1978 Vikings schedule (we didn’t win the superbowl that year either..).

The whole project ended up costing less than $500 by using some paint that I already had and by buying materials on sale. I can’t believe the difference in the before and after! I LOVE my basement gym now!

Home Gym Basement Remodel | Style and the Suburbs

3 thoughts on “Basement Remodel Reveal!

Leave a Reply

