Kitchen Remodel Inspiration

After slowly remodeling each room in my house, I’ve finally gotten to my kitchen. I’ve waited on this remodel because I knew it was going to be the priciest and like every project, I want to do it right and with quality materials so it lasts.

My parents knew the woman who built my house back in 1950 and she told them stories of how her husband was mad at the people who installed the birch cupboards because some of the doors have seams in them. Because I’m sure there are 5 foot wide birch trees just hanging out everywhere! The cupboards have never been refinished or painted (sorry everyone who paints everything white, stay away from my kitchen), and are beautiful solid wood that has lasted over 60 years.

Someone cut a spot for a dishwasher (looking at you previous owners), and I am determined to find someone who can take it out and patch in the spot because it just doesn’t visually fit the kitchen.

Remodel goals also include scraping the popcorn off the ceiling (again looking at you previous owners…), new counter tops, new flooring, and a killer light fixture of my dreams.  I recently got a sleek new fridge which was quite a challenge to fit in the existing spot and have started on the popcorn scraping. I may have to sell off an organ or two to buy the marble counter tops that I have my eyes on, but I know it will be worth the investment to last another 60 years.

I’m still on the hunt for the perfect light fixture and I’m at a loss for what would look great on the floor to fit my refreshed mid century dream kitchen. Here is some of my dream kitchen inspo:

fc331f76329b9610dd3e248099eb4e0e
d29e45001758246c687c01902a3965f5
c026d5d9d3c99abed1c1b06e660617f5
8e31966596a748551f7c429619354296

 

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Remodel Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Faux Stainless Appliance Hack | style & the suburbs

  2. Pingback: Removing Popcorn Texture From Ceilings | style & the suburbs

Leave a Reply

