Retro Chair Refurbish DIY

Refinishing Vintage Chairs DIY | Style and the Suburbs

The one benefit to being an early morning runner is that I get to see all of the old furniture people leave out on the curb to find a new home. I’ve seen a lot of trash out there, but have also had some great finds, like amazing antique cabinets that were the perfect addition to my guest bedroom.

Another amazing find were 1950’s swivel chairs that I ran by twice, then drove by twice, before deciding I just had to rescue them.

The chairs were in rough shape with chipped paint and mold all over the fiberglass backs (yuuuuck!). But they were not cracked or broken so I thought they could be saved. I started with scrubbing them down with bleach and then used a pressure washer to clean off the years of dirt (seriously those things are amazing!).

Refinishing Vintage Chairs DIY | Style and the Suburbs

The bases needed to be removed from the tops so they could be sanded down with an air sander. I then primed and painted them gold. I gave the upper portion a fresh coat of bright white paint and love the glossy surface it gave them.

Refinishing Vintage Chairs DIY | Style and the SuburbsRefinishing Vintage Chairs DIY | Style and the Suburbs

I still don’t have a spot for the chairs in my house so they are scattered as accent pieces in different rooms, but I would love to use them as retro dining chairs once my kitchen remodel is complete.

Refinishing Vintage Chairs DIY | Style and the SuburbsRefinishing Vintage Chairs DIY | Style and the Suburbs

2 thoughts on “Retro Chair Refurbish DIY

Leave a Reply

