Decorating with Vintage Pieces

Home Decor: Mixing Old and New | Style and the Suburbs

I don’t have a way to describe my decor other than trying to stick to a freshened midcentury look without getting too modern. When I first bought my house, I didn’t have a lot of money for decor (I was 23 years old okay!). I inherited a lot of beautiful antique items from my grandma and did what I can to decorate with them. Over the years, these items have become a part of my personal style and I love how they have meaning to me other than just as decor pieces.

I try to mix old pieces with newer items so it doesn’t look too old fashioned. There’s something to be said about items that are 50 years old and have maintained their quality and beauty. My favorite items include vases, lamps, and even table linens that have stood the test of time. I love having these family heirlooms on display and know that no one else can copy the look by just buying things. I refinished my Grandpa’s antique dresser (DIY tutorial coming soon!) and have used it as the centerpiece for my bedroom.

Do you have any family heirlooms that you’ve incorporated into your home?

 

Decorating with Family Heirlooms | Style and the SuburbsHome Decor: Mixing Old and New | Style and the SuburbsHome Decor: Mixing Old and New | Style and the Suburbs

2 thoughts on “Decorating with Vintage Pieces

Leave a Reply

