Removing Popcorn Texture From Ceilings

Ever since I bought my house, I’ve hated the popcorn texture on the ceilings. Its not original to the house, and I don’t understand why anyone would cover plaster ceilings with terrible texture. It makes it super hard to paint around and I ended up painting most of the ceiling edges of my walls with a q-tip! #perfectionistproblems

I’ve heard from many people that the popcorn is pretty easy to take down, but I was always a little scared it would destroy the ceiling trying to take it down. I’ve finally begun my kitchen remodel and really, really wanted to get the texture off the kitchen ceiling before doing anything else.

Removing Popcorn Texture from Ceilings DIY | Style and the Suburbs

We started in the small entry room to test the process and see how the ceiling looked under the texture. It worked so well, we moved right on to the kitchen. The process is pretty easy–

  1. You first want to cover everything possible with cheap plastic or tarps. The popcorn will get EVERYWHERE.
  2. Use a spray bottle to dampen the area you want to work in. Let it sit for a few minutes and spray down again.
  3. Use a plastic putty knife and start scraping. You do not wan’t to use metal as it can and will damage plaster ceilings.
  4. If the popcorn is wet enough, it will come off very easy. I was hesitant to get the ceiling too wet because I didn’t want water stains, but most of the water came down with the popcorn texture.
  5. I did wipe the ceiling down with a towel to ensure it was clean and dry after each section I did.
  6. Be sure to clean up any mess before it starts to dry on you walls/floors. It was nice to just bundle up the plastic covering everything and throw it all away.

Removing Popcorn Texture from Ceilings DIY | Style and the Suburbs

Removing Popcorn Texture from Ceilings | Style and the SuburbsRemoving Popcorn Texture from Ceilings DIY | Style and the Suburbs

My ceiling happened to be perfect underneath the popcorn- it barely needed to be painted. I did a light sanding to ensure all of the texture was removed and finished with a coat of primer and paint to freshen it up.

Removing Popcorn Texture from Ceilings | Style and the SuburbsRemoving Popcorn Texture from Ceilings | Style and the Suburbs

It was certainly not a fun job, but also not that difficult. I was able to do my large kitchen in about 8 hours of work and cleanup time for scraping and another couple of hours for painting. I also had to go back and touch up the top of the walls to get a clean paint line where the popcorn edges had been.

Removing Popcorn Texture from Ceilings | Style and the Suburbs

I’m very excited to continue on to the other rooms in my house. And to find a new light fixture for my kitchen so I can see at night again!

 

3 thoughts on “Removing Popcorn Texture From Ceilings

  1. Pingback: Finding a Vintage-Inspired Kitchen Light Fixture | style & the suburbs

  2. Pingback: Bedroom Makeover Inspiration | style & the suburbs

Leave a Reply

