Creating Your Personal Style

Creating Your Personal Style | Style & the Suburbs

Some of you may or may not know that I went to college for fashion design and work in product design and development for home decor at Target headquarters. (I usually don’t say too much on this blog because I try to keep work and my life outside of work separate for my own sanity!)

I’ve always loved fashion and style and I’m so grateful that I was able to make a career out of something that I enjoy. Back when I was in school I dreamed of being able to buy all of the clothes that I wanted and have THE coolest outfits around. Not quite there yet, but I still love picking out outfits and finding the best deals on designer pieces.

I believe that it’s important to be original in your style. No two people have the same interests or personality, and your clothes shouldn’t be that way either. I love running, so I have a lot of Nike “athleisure” running clothes that I mix in with more classic pieces from J Crew and Madewell. I also love a statement dress with a retro feel– they are so easy to style!

I like to mix in a few pieces from my new secret (not so secret?!) shop for trendier pieces: Abercrombie and Fitch. I still have a soft spot in my heart for A&F from my highschool years, but then brand has gotten pretty cool the past few seasons and I find so many good deals!

I try to invest in quality basics (like nice leather boots or sandals) in the after-season clearance and save them for the next year. This year I got the $300 Madewell booties that I was eyeing all season for only $70 (remind me they’re tucked under the bed in my guest room when I forget!).

When it comes to styles that I know will only be trendy for a season or two (like those off the shoulder blouses and dresses), I only buy items that have a really good sale and sell them on Poshmark once I’m over them. I also know what trends really don’t work for my body or office dress code and just avoid them.

I keep a Pinterest board with images of most of the items that I purchase. Pinterest usually pulls similar items or pins with that item so it’s easy to get ideas on how to style the items in different ways. Social media is a great way to see how other people pull together different styles in one look so you don’t have to look like a clone of everyone else going after a style.

My friend Renee recently wrote a great piece about dressing for your life, that is so true for people of all ages and body types!

Now I think it’s about time for us all to get our shop on!

Leave a Reply

