Yard Goals

After owning my home for a few years, I’ve finally created the best yard on the block. It’s taken a lot of work to clean out overgrown gardens, plant new flowers, update landscaping, and rid the lawn of weeds.

Maintenance each year includes putting in new colored mulch (which I freshen up a few times during the summer), spraying weeds in the lawn once a week, watering, then lots of mowing. I try to water in the mornings when the lawn is still cool, but its hard to do with my schedule, so I usually just end up moving the sprinkler around all weekend long.

Most of my flower gardens are maintenance-free other than a little bit of weeding and pruning. The colored hydrangeas require a lot of water and a soil acidifier a few times each spring and summer. My side garden is full of colorful booms that change throughout the summer. Its perfect for making pretty bouquets!

I’m loving the new fence in my back yard! It does a great job at keeping the neighbors out. But the wild turkeys are a different story. These buggers ate every last part of my strawberry plants so I am now trying to start them over. They must be picky eaters because they left all of the vegetable plants alone!

IMG_5733

Luckily, I don’t mind mowing the lawn because it takes over an hour each time. I like to think of it as a good workout. Next on the yard agenda is finishing the fence across the rest of the back yard!

Leave a Reply

