New Years Resolutions

Looking back on 2017, I did a good job of setting yearly and monthly goals. I’ve found that writing out goals, making a plan, and reminding yourself of the plan helps hold yourself accountable. It’s so easy to start out a new year with the best intentions, but it takes a lot of work to keep up with the things you promise yourself!

Most of my goals revolve around a bigger training plan for running, but I also love setting little monthly goals like “eat more veggies”, “eat less sugar at breakfast”, or “don’t shop online this month”. You really can do anything for just one month!

New Years Resolutions | Style & the Suburbs

I track my progress on a printable calendar and record my progress daily. I also find that sharing my goals on social media helps keep me accountable too!

edf4bb5cf4bfe1f0a639492168a21f1a

In the interest of accountability, here are my 2018 goals:

Running Goals: Last year, I crushed my biggest goal of running a marathon and only missed my goal time of 4 hours by 11 seconds. I’m already signed up for a series of races this year and I’m really wanting to PR (personal record) all distances— 5k, half marathon, and the full marathon. This is a little aggressive, but it’s worth a shot!

Career Goals: This year, my goal is to be brave and try something new. I’m not sure what that is yet, but I’ve been doing the same thing for a few years now and I’m ready to find myself a bigger challenge.

Personal Goals: My personal goal this year is to be a better friend. I have an achiever personality, so I spend a lot of time chasing my own dreams (literally!). Sometimes it’s hard to balance being there for my friends when I put so much pressure on myself, but I know I can do more to be more present for my friends and family. If it means postponing a long run to be there for something that is important to someone I care about, so be it!

What do you guys think? Have you thought about goals for 2018?

3 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions

  1. This year I’m trying to be easier on myself. I like to be productive and achieve. This year, I want to be more present in thd journey. Also, judge myself less.

Leave a comment